Episode 92: Psalm 119

Episode 119: Titus 2:11-13 Peace Prayers

Praying Titus 2:11-13
  1. Episode 119: Titus 2:11-13
  2. Episode 118: 2 Timothy 2:11-13
  3. Episode 117: 1 Thessalonians 1:6
  4. Episode 116: Colossians 1:9-12
  5. Episode 115: Philippians 2:14-16a

Today’s prayer is a selection of verses from Psalm 119. This is my favorite psalm, even though it takes a long time to read it. I’d love to read the verses and for you to reflect on the truth of how good and right it is to love God’s word and His law and how when we do it, we are in complete alignment with how He created us to be.

Let’s pray together.

Psalm 119:5 Oh, that my ways were steadfast in obeying Your decrees!

119:28 My soul is weary with sorrow; strengthen me according to Your word.

119:32 I run in the path of Your commands, for You have set my heart free.

119:43 Never take Your word of truth from my mouth, for I have put my hope in Your laws.

119:50 My comfort in my suffering is this: Your promise preserves my life.

119:71 It was good for me to be afflicted so that I might learn Your decrees.

119:74 May those who fear You rejoice when they see me, for I have put my hope in Your word.

119:96 To all perfection I see a limit, but Your commands are boundless.

119:103 How sweet are Your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!

119:116 Sustain me, my God, according to Your promise, and I will live; do not let my hopes be dashed.

119:120 My flesh trembles in fear of You; I stand in awe of Your laws.

119:130-131 The unfolding of Your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple. I open my mouth and pant, longing for Your commands.

119:134 Redeem me from human oppression, that I may obey Your precepts.

119:136 Streams of tears flow from my eyes, for Your law is not obeyed.

119:152 Long ago I learned from Your statutes that You established them to last forever.

119:154 Defend my cause and redeem me; preserve my life according to Your promise.

119:160-161 All Your words are true; all Your righteous laws are eternal. Rulers persecute me without cause, but my heart trembles at Your word.

119:165 Great peace have those who love Your law, and nothing can make them stumble.

119:173 May Your hand be ready to help me, for I have chosen Your precepts.

119:176 I have strayed like a lost sheep. Seek Your servant, for I have not forgotten Your commands.

Father, today we acknowledge how much we have to learn. You designed the universe. You set every law into place. Your way is the right way. It is pure arrogance of us to think that we could do better than You in any way. You gave us freedom of will and we have squandered that gift by not freely choosing to follow the truth You have created.

Today keep us steady in the way that is in obedience to You. Strengthen us and help us to choose to follow You, even when it is hard. Let us delight in Your law, ecstatic in the joy of surrendering our will to Yours. Let these commands be with us forever and let no one take them from us and let us never lay them down. They are eternal, so help us to eternally cling to them. And to adore them, to see the beauty in them, to hunger and thirst for their righteousness. Help us to put all our hope into them, for they are Your promise to us. May we yearn to see them fulfilled and to have our hearts broken when we see them broken, by ourselves or anyone else. Defend us and protect us as we follow You. Be our Great Shepherd and let us remember Your decrees and cherish them, in the fear of the LORD and the love of our merciful Savior.

We pray this in the perfect and forever name of Jesus. Amen.

Leave a comment